Working with apps in the chrome web store

by f1orentine

I began using some apps on the chrome web store since the beginning of the semester. I am back and shall evaluate the ones I used, based on whether or not I kept the app, and how often I used it. Right off the bat, the first apps I installed and kept were ad block, ad block plus, and Ghostery. The first two apps were invaluable to me as a social tool to fend off those sites that are notorious for super intrusive ads. Ghostery is a different story. I like to use it as tool to evaluate data mining companies. Do I know what I’ll do with the knowledge that Quantcast is tracking me? Probably not..but it’s nice to know!

Next, after a few IT lectures I went straight to the productivity section of the web store. There I found wireframe.cc. It’s a cool tool developers use to create mock ups of their sites before they code. There are other options, but since I’m limited to the chrome web store, this was by far and across the superior product of the bunch. When you diddle with an app like this you can’t fully utilize it without the background knowledge  to markup a website. So without that knowledge I was just a kid with some toys, and I got bored. I’ll admit I didn’t spend that much time with this app but I should definitely come back to it cause it’s very nifty if you want create a frame work. 

My favorite app that I chose was an experimental code editor called tailor a fun, simple to use IDE. Although it’s in its beginning, those growing pains are gonna make one feature rich fat baby! The environment supports JavaScript, Html, and CSS – the big client side players in web development. The app is very easy to use with git hub, and gives you the option to use extensions. I haven’t utilized these elements yet but I’m sure their fantastic.